This trophy is awarded to the playoff winner of the Eastern Conference.

History of the trophy: The Wales trophy was donated to the NHL by
Prince Edward, at the time the Prince of Wales, who would also later
become King Edward VIII, in 1925.

Who the trophy was awarded to has changed over the years:
-Winner of the American Division from 1927-28 to 1937-38.
-Winner of the regular season from 1938-39 to 1966-67.
-Winner of the East Division from 1967-68 to 1973-74.
-Winner of the Wales Conference in the regular season from 1974-75 to
1980-81, then the playoff champion from 1981-82 to present day. The
Wales Conference would be renamed the Eastern Conference for the
1993-94 season.
Years the Devils won the Wales Trophy, and the team they've defeated:
Philadelphia Flyers
Philadelphia Flyers
Pittsburgh Penguins
Ottawa Senators
New York Rangers