This trophy is awarded to the playoff winner of the Western Conference.

History of the trophy: The Campbell Bowl was presented to the NHL by
member clubs in 1967 to recognize the services of then NHL President
Clarence S. Campbell.

Who the trophy was awarded to has changed over the years:
-Winner of the West Division from 1967-68 to 1973-74.
-Winner of the Campbell Conference in the regular season from 1974-75
to 1980-81, then the playoff champion from 1981-82 to present day. The
Campbell Conference would be renamed the Western Conference for the
1993-94 season.
The Scouts and Rockies, but not the Devils, had played in the Campbell
Conference. Neither team had won the Campbell Bowl.