This trophy is awarded to the NHL's top General Manager, just as the
title says.

The winner is chosen by a panel of 40 members: all 30 NHL General
Managers, 5 NHL Executives, and 5 media members.

History of the trophy: The idea of the award first came about in 1993 by
Brian Burke, who at the time was working for the League. In 2010, the
award would finally be created.

It was first presented in 2010 during the annual June GM meetings, which
was taking place during the Stanley Cup Finals that year. The following
year, the award presentation was included in the NHL Awards Ceremony.
Devils that have won the GM of the Year Trophy:
None To Date
Devils that have been voted for (with finish):
Lou Lamoriello